don’t pluck it, f*c* it

flash-gordon.jpg

this is probably too much of a “New South Wales, Australia” in-joke, but it had me on the floor laughing this afternoon. To explain, there is a city just an hour or so north of sydney called Gosford. it’s very close to an area called The Entrance.

remember those horrible short shorts that guys used to wear in the 80s? a visitor to the gimcrack was wearing a pair today. just the shorts, running shoes and a tight white singlet. he looked like he was training for a marathon and had just stopped by to visit his granny for a moment. in the parlance of today’s gayspeak, he was a bear.

as he jogged past my desk, leaving a trail of eau savage in his wake, one of our male nurses made an appreciative clucking sound. “I LOVE a man in Gosford shorts”

“why do you call them Gosford shorts?” I asked.

“because they’re so close to The Entrance”

opening.jpg

 

Published in: on February 28, 2008 at 10:43 am  Comments (18)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://nursemyra.wordpress.com/2008/02/28/dont-pluck-it-fc-it/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

18 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. LOL… Well done!

  2. Ha! :)

  3. You’re funny!

    It’s almost Friday!!! I can’t wait!!!!

  4. Sartorial spelunking, huh? Let’s hope he uses fabric softener.

  5. tee hee :-D

  6. hi 70s! see you at blogtv live!

  7. nursemyra, you stopped in on the Fuelmyblog show? Damn it, I missed you.

    Remember, don’t feed the bears.

    that’s him! the stocky one in pink with the big co…. oh wait.. they’ve all got big co….

  8. Hi NM I was great to see you there my mate :-) I have suggested that Fuel my Blog develop a live chat room … how cool would that be :-D

  9. Oh dear, a long long time ago, in a milieu far from here, I seem to remember wearing shorts like that – Stubbies, a size too small – - -

  10. somehow i get a visual of richard simmons mincing about in a bear suit. someone blind me now…

  11. I’m glad your nurse didn’t refer to them as Kiama Shorts.

  12. Happy Privilege of Ladies Day, nursemyra. :)

  13. p.s. – here in the States, we call it <em<Sadie Hawkins Day.

  14. rest assured tobymarx, I won’t be asking for anyone’s hand in marriage today :-)

  15. I never wear shorts above my knees, I dont fancy the boys being that close to open air in public.

  16. wise decision Alex….

  17. Ah, that made me get all nostalgic!

  18. for the 80s? for bears? for witty repartee in the workplace?

    (I know it’s not the latter, I’ve just read your post on anonymity :-)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 165 other followers

