the mother and nurse of sodomy

the things nursemyra finds when she’s trawling the net….. in 1731 a 24 page pamphlet selling for 6d detailed the reasons for the growth of sodomy.

of all the Customs Effeminacy has produc’d, none more hateful and pernicious, than that of the mens Kissing each other. This Fashion was brought over from Italy, (the Mother and Nurse of Sodomy); where the Master is oftner Intriguing with his Page, than a fair Lady And not only in that Country, but in France, which copies from them, the Contagion is diversify’d, and the Ladies (in the Nunneries) are criminally amorous of each other, in a Method too gross for Expression. when I see two Ladies Kissing and Slopping each other, in a lascivious Manner, and frequently repeating it, I am shock’d to the last Degree; but not so much, as when I see two fulsome Fellows Slavering every Time they meet, Squeezing each other’s Hand, and other like indecent Symptoms.

Under this Pretext, Catamites make their preposterous Addresses, even in the Streets; nor can any thing be more shocking, than to see a Couple of Creatures, who wear the Shapes of Men, Kiss and Slaver each other, as is daily practised in our most publick Places without Reproof; because they plead in Excuse, That it is the Fashion. Damn’d Fashion! Imported from Italy amidst a Train of other unnatural Vices.

by opposing all inlets to the Sin of Sodomy I hope the manly and generous Britons*, who yet survive, will take what I saw into Consideration. since the introduction of Italian Operas here our men have grown sadly more and more effeminate 

*do they come any more manly than this dear old gent?

Published in: on July 19, 2008 at 7:28 am  Comments (22)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://nursemyra.wordpress.com/2008/07/19/the-mother-and-nurse-of-sodomy/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

22 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. The girl couples look so much better when they couple.

  2. Such damnable prudery from the land of Oscar Wilde and Beau Brummel – – -

  3. Yes, Jesus General is an 11 on the manly scale of absolute gender. Or so it says on his blog.

    And those last two don’t look all that effeminate even though they are kissing.

  4. Tag Larkin is not imported from Italy. Italy imports from Tag Larkin.

  5. I imagine it was such damnable prudery that inspired the thoroughly English sport of caning, Archie.

  6. Gosh …… well thanks Nursey ….. perhaps I should go to the opera more often [I'd wear a new frock obviously]

  7. …….. just to get in touch with my feminine side …. *grunt*

  8. “…opposing all inlets to sodomy…”

    …is that like a butt plug or something similar? it’s not like we can just cross our legs to block access…

  9. “…when I see two Ladies Kissing and Slopping each other… I am shock’d to the last Degree; but not so much, as when I see two fulsome Fellows Slavering…”

    Ah, yes… the double visual standard. Even in the 1700’s, seeing two women going at it was “a bit of alright, innit?”

  10. ‘Is not the old Custom of shaking Hands more manly, more friendly, and more decent? ‘ That has to be written by an English man :-)

  11. you’re right 70s. And such a good substitute for sex :-)

  12. I had a hard time understanding him…he’s not for it, I take it?

  13. I think the gentleman doth protest too much…..

  14. ‘when I see two Ladies Kissing and Slopping each other, in a lascivious Manner, and frequently repeating it, I am shock’d to the last Degree;’

    I know its just disgusting isnt it… what with the tongues and… soft… I have to go!

  15. Ah, so that’s why I so like shaking hands.

  16. and the Ladies (in the Nunneries) are criminally amorous of each other

    I’m now thinking back to my grammar school days … I was always suspicious of the way Sister Mary Elizabeth and Sister Catherine Saint John carried on … and then there was all that smacking me with the ruler … hmmmmm????

  17. I take it you don’t mean on the hand?

  18. Hmm apparently he was buggered silly at boarding school, so perhaps he had a little Italian in him after all.

  19. I’m glad to see the author made such a thorough study of the despicable practice before denouncing it.

  20. maybe he should have just stopped going to the opera

  21. You know this is proves that the more things change the more they stay the same. I have some people on my blog who refuse to watch TV because it’s “evil.” Little do they know that it is NOT TV but OPERA that is the root of our woes.

  22. Ai. And can you believe it. Some local journo just wrote that marrying someone of the same sex is like marrying an animal. You’d think this country would be a little more sensitive about discrimination.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 163 other followers

