sniff my shoes

an 18th century perfume pistolet

more from my friend Havelock Ellis:

“There is no doubt that the smell of leather has a curiously stimulating sexual influence on many men and women. A prostitute reported several clients requested the odour of new shoes in the room, and she was accustomed to obtaining the desired perfume by holding her shoes for a moment over the flame of a spirit lamp.

The odour of semen has been compared to new mown hay or the pollen of flowering grasses. A scientific friend who has done much work in the field of organic chemistry tells us he associates the odour of semen with that produced by the diastatic action of mixing flour and water, which he regards as sexual in character.”

There is a niche market for erotic smells and Vulva aims to fill this. The “precious vaginal odour” is sold in a small glass phial. Shake the phial gently and apply a tiny amount of the “precious organic substance” to the back of the hand. the irresistible smell that exudes from a sensuous vagina immediately intensifies your erotic fantasies and starts the film rolling in your head…..

For an interesting read about modern perfumes that smell like crotch, click this link. nursemyra would love to try Querelle or one of the scents that are redolent of opium dens, absinthe and Parisian orgies.

There is a downside to perfumes too

“It is well known that workers in perfume are apt to suffer from the inhalation of odours amid which they live. Dealers in musk are said to be specially liable to precocious dementia.

unfortunately once dementia sets in, it seems to accompanied by the unmistakeable odour of urine. that’s what I smell at the Gimcrack anyway……

Published in: on September 23, 2008 at 8:21 am  Comments (21)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://nursemyra.wordpress.com/2008/09/23/sniff-my-shoes/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

21 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Hooray I got in first.

    Cant think of anything to say but never mind.

    It is a pity that diseases do not produce their own cures, the smell of urine being a cure for dementia perhaps.

  2. At high school there were these trees that when it rained smelt like cum, so we called them cum trees, we were clever like that. It was really quite pungent and distracting.

  3. what trees are those? would we have them in sydney?

  4. i have an odd craving for bread…

  5. opium dens, absinthe and parisian orgies, i believe you’ve just desribed heaven. or maybe a brilliant weekend.

  6. Oooh, I’m utterly a scent girl. Fortunately for LB, he smells edible. om nom nom!

  7. Is that why The Boyo likes to come over when I’m baking bread? I always thought some of those perfumes smelled like poo, now I know why.

  8. what is it with dementia and urine? do these people dribble as they walk? do their cleanliness habits change? is there a link between incontinence and dementia? you’ve made me curious.
    so smells: for me, chocolate is preferred over leather. vanilla, cinnamon. a new rose. shampoo’d hair. leather is not magical to me.
    the smell of a shoe is no more exciting than freshly turned earth. it has a brief moment of earthy pleasure, but it doesn’t cause fiery blood to flow southward towards my loins.
    now where did i put my mentholatum?

    sadly it’s a combination of things. if you live long enough the chances of becoming incontinent increase dramatically because the bladder muscles deteriorate (keep doing those kegel exercises!). about 25% of our patients have to use continence aids to avoid accidents. they often just have stress incontinence but that means even a sneeze will cause leakage.

    if you have dementia you are much more likely to be incontinent because you won’t recognise full bladder signals or you’ll forget what they mean, or you’ll get up to go to the toilet and forget what you got up for……

  9. Hello … Today is Lord Likely’s birthday!

    Awesome web log! :)

    hi Ms. Apples, welcome to the gimcrack. any friend of Lord Likely’s……

  10. Those piccies are heaven scent …….

  11. I’ve heard the pH balance is crucial in the coochie.

  12. My cologne smells like desperation and crying.

  13. I’m a sucker for tears

  14. In the not too distant future there will be a “scratch and sniff” button on our laptops.
    Don’t know if that’s good or bad . . .
    Is that a crusty baguette in your pocket or are you just happy to see me?
    ~m

  15. They bottled the scent of a vagina!?!??! What next?

  16. I have no idea what the trees are called, I’d put the phrase ‘cum trees’ into google but… well I’m just scared of hat will come up.

  17. Mixing flour and water … heck, and here I thought it was my new irresistible apron! ;-)

  18. gee.. that apron is getting quite a workout

  19. where do you get all this stuff you filthy durty wee beast, nursey?

    Can I put a request in for more of the basque photos please. Personally, I much prefer black body stockings, but I’ll take what I can get.

  20. I’ve got a black body stocking…..

  21. I look forward to the photo on your next post.

    Failing that, please send an autographed personal copy to me at my blog address.

    Much obliged madam.

    PS: If you wake up in the middle of the night and hear some howling – that’ll probaby be me.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 158 other followers

