a sausage or a dildo?

you guys think you know what a dildo is, right? so did I until I read Legal Habits and discovered it was also the name of the sausage shaped corkscrew curl that formed a tail at the end of a Bob wig. A Campaign wig sported two dildoes, one on each side.

miss-shuttlecock

In the 1950s, wigs and elaborate hairstyles were used to disguise hearing aids

paravoxsecret

as this fabulous booklet reveals, there were many methods of concealing such devices. this woman looks like she’s wired up for an FBI sting

wired

I recommend clicking the link, there is an entire catalogue of fascinating items such as tie clips, insignias, emblems, watches, fountain pens, barrettes, hats and scarves that were used to glamourise the world of hearing assistance.

james-bond-with-his-hairstylist

even you know who would have been impressed…..

Published in: on January 22, 2009 at 7:08 am  Comments (30)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://nursemyra.wordpress.com/2009/01/22/a-sausage-or-a-dildo/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

30 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. So when did the word ‘dildo’ start to be used for the sex aid?

  2. Eh? WHAAAT? Can you speak up dear?

  3. When the time comes, I intend to use my cardboard box as a disguise ………

  4. I can’t wait to make my dildo wig… It will definitely have more than two sausages on it.

  5. Common usage has evolved the word, I think

  6. I simply refuse to walk about with dildos in my ears.

  7. i’m sorry, i can’t hear you. there’s a dildo in my ear…

  8. I read the wotsit, excellent….

    A “simulated pearl necklace”…..???

    That’s gotta be worth the money, surely…?

  9. What a fascinating history of hearing aid evolution. I especially liked the miniature hearing trumpets and the tabletop models, although that winged hat gets very high marks, too. :)

  10. I request a post on the history of merkins.

    how about this one?

    http://nursemyra.wordpress.com/2008/06/05/beggars-buggars-and-choosers/

  11. I dunno, lawyers….dildo’s. Seems a pity really.

  12. I totally want one of those hearing amplifiers, where you can hear people’s conversations from across the room. Totally.

  13. I actually learned the two meanings of the word dildo backwards (ie I knew about wig tails first–that is what a childhood with Dickens will get you.) So rather than attaching odd images to wigs…well, let’s just leave it as Sex toys aren’t my favorites.

  14. I had a childhood filled with the Bronte sisters so there’s too much of the incurable romantic in me. i think Dickens would have given me a better grounding for the realities of life :-)

    Your image of fog today is truly amazing Kym

  15. Just stick another, umm, oar into all your ears, Dildo is also the name of a town on Canada’s island province of Newfoundland. Please don’t ask me what the local industry is. I don’t know. But it may involve cod pieces… breaded and fried.

  16. Funny… a dildo doing the the concealing, and not concealing the dildo…

  17. Tried it once. Terrible buzzing… took days to subside.

  18. Tried what? inserting a dildo in your ear?

  19. It is rather amazing how these hearing aids have evolved over the years.

    I knew the word dildo had to have come from somewhere. Once again I have learned a thing or 2 here nurse.

  20. 6 days a week I like to educate….. Fridays are something else. Glad you liked the post Ricardo, come back for the Friday corset shot in a couple of hours :-)

  21. Oh I eagerly await Friday’s as you well know :-)

  22. Coyote I so want to sail up the Dildo Arm …. fantastic :-)

  23. well when you put it like that 70s…..

    I’ve been to Halifax, St John’s, Prince Edward Island and several parts of Newfoundland. Shame I missed out on Dildo.

  24. Nursie, as you edumacate us, would you please mark any links that lead to pdf’s as such, especially when they are upwards of 80 pages? Ktxbai.

  25. Sure. In what way am I supposed to mark them? It says pdf when you hover over the link, but not how large it is….

  26. I have a chick mate who gained a luminous reputation after a new year’s eve party where she “sported two dildoes, one on each side”.

    One on the inside, one on the outside.

  27. coincidentally
    A dildo is sometimes the first one to hear you coming.
    pun intended

  28. how do you come up with this stuff – brilliant!
    xx

  29. hello genki gal – long time no see xx

  30. Ha! Who would have thought I’d learn about the true origins of a dildo in a hair salon?! ;)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 162 other followers

