cry “Spanko”

Towards the end of the 17th century, the streets of London were haunted by a man known as “Whipping Tom“. ***

Tom would wait in dark alleys for unsuspecting ladies out and about at night, grab them, lift up their skirts and beat ‘an Alarum’ upon ‘their Tobies’ with his bare hand as he cried out ‘Spanko!’.

image found here

His attacks went no further than a harsh spanking, but a contemporary account recorded that one one occasion ‘he so swinged her tail, that tis thought, she will not be capable of her Trade for some time.’

There is no record of him doing anything other than spanking. A pamphlet printed at the time describes in great detail the tale of a poor, stunned pease-pudding seller:

“Another time the Woman that cries hot Gray Pease about the Streets, coming up Ram Alley in Fleet Street … a cold hand was lay’d upon her, and up flew her heels, and down fell the Pease Tub, when (as she has farther related) her sences were so charmed, that she lost all power of Resistance, and left him to Tyranize over her Posteriors at pleasure, the which when he had done, he left her to scrape up her ware as well as she could, for the use of such longing Ladies as are affected with such Diet.”

***found here

Spankometer found here


Published in: on December 23, 2009 at 7:39 am  Comments (26)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://nursemyra.wordpress.com/2009/12/23/cry-spanko/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

26 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. The olden days seem like alot more fun sometimes.

    • …until you remember the lack of flushing toilets and washing machines

      • Wait… you have a toilet that flushes?

  2. i could certainly use a good alarum beaten upon my toby… damn holidays.

  3. Cottontail lady likes dogs- I like dogs! I think our town is too small for me to spank ladies on the street. At best, I could hit the bricks.

    Reed Strictive

  4. What is it about London at the fag end of the century? If it’s not Whipping Tom, it’s The London Monster or Jack the Ripper.

    I don’t approve of spanking ladies’ bottoms: it spoils the fabric.

    • and don’t forget Spring Heeled Jack

  5. Spanko…I am going to try out that game today.

  6. When I see a woman’s naked bottom, I’m more inclined to bite it than spank it, but I’m game to try anything.

  7. This sounds like something Tag Larkin would do. This also sounds like something women would want Tag Larkin to do too.

    • I’d let Tag Larkin spank my bottom. I bet daisyfae would too

      • oh, yeah…

  8. Ooohhh….me likes being spanked very much! :p

    Merry Xmas luv!

  9. Madonna? [Growlf] [woof] [howlllllllll]

    • i would have picked you as more of a Veronicas fan archie ;-)

  10. Ahhhhhh My namesake. I was named after him you know. I’ve tried very hard to model myself on him.

    Hark! Is that the Constabulary I hear beating a tattoo on ye olde front door?

  11. DINGO: Oh, wicked, bad, naughty, evil Zoot! Oh, she is a naughty person, and she must pay the penalty — and here in Castle Anthrax, we have but one punishment for setting alight the grail-shaped beacon. You must tie her down on a bed and spank her!

    GIRLS: A spanking! A spanking!

    DINGO: You must spank her well. And after you have spanked her, you may deal with her as you like. And then, spank me.

    VARIOUS GIRLS: And spank me. And me. And me.

    DINGO: Yes, yes, you must give us all a good spanking!

    GIRLS: A spanking! A spanking!
    ;-)

    • Python?

      • hee! Holy Grail…

  12. Bare bottoms? Spankings? ….. where will it all end?

  13. coming up Ram Alley

    Is *that* what the kids are calling it nowadays?

  14. nothing exciting like that ever happens to me :(

    • You need to meet Tag Larkin ;-)

  15. nursem– Please don’t tell me where you find these gems of naughty antiquity. It’d spoil all the fun of finding them here.

    Merry Christmas!

    • Ok I won’t tell but you could just check out my “books I’ve read this year” page…..

  16. Shucks I may just give this a try simply to hear women cry out “SPANKO!”


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 164 other followers

