show me your bottom

In London between 1788 and 1790, up to fifty women claimed to have been attacked by a man who became known as the London Monster.

According to the victims (most of them from wealthier families), a large man had followed them, shouted obscenities and stabbed them in the buttocks. Some reports claimed an attacker had knives fastened to his knees. Other accounts reported that he would invite prospective victims to smell a fake nosegay and then stab them in the nose with the spike hiding within the flowers.

image found here

When people realised that the Monster attacked mainly beautiful women, some women claimed that they had been attacked to gain attention and sympathy. Armed vigilantes set out to patrol the city. Fashionable ladies began to wear copper pans over their petticoats.

image found here

On June 13, 1790, Anne Porter claimed she had spotted her attacker in St. James’s Park. Her admirer, John Coleman, pursued the man, who realised he was being followed. When Rhynwick Williams, an unemployed 23-year-old, reached his house, Coleman confronted him, accusing him of insulting a lady, and took Williams to meet Porter, who fainted when she saw him.

Williams protested his innocence but, given the climate of panic, it was futile. He admitted that he had once approached Porter but had an alibi for another of the attacks. Magistrates charged Williams with defacing clothing — a crime that in the Bloody Code carried harsher penalty than assault or attempted murder

slashed dress found here

Despite the fact that a number of alleged victims gave contradictory stories and that coworkers testified that he had an alibi for the most famous attack, Williams was convicted on three counts and sentenced to two years each, for a total of six years in prison.

His time spent behind bars was not entirely wasted: he fathered a child who was conceived whilst Williams was imprisoned. He later married the mother of his child on release.

In Paris, in 1819, a similar series of attacks took place

Stabbers, or piquers, were attacking women in the streets, cutting their buttocks with sharp rapiers fastened to canes or umbrellas. There was widespread alarm and it was recommended that married women be accompanied by their husbands at all times and those without husbands should wear bottom protectors. 

bottom protector found here

Police agents and private piquer hunters dressed up as women to tempt the villains to attack but they had no luck. Twenty prostitutes were employed as decoys, they were to walk through Paris followed by policemen in plain clothes. In spite of these bizarre promenades no piquer was caught;  even though over 880 francs had been spent on the harlots and their wine allowance.

Paris prostitutes found here

At the same time, the Madchenschneider, or Girl-Cutter, of Augsberg, began a long and bloody career. Again , several women were cut across the legs or buttocks, apparently without motive. A 37 year old wine merchant was caught after a reign of terror lasting 18 years. 

Another series of attacks took place in Strasbourg in 1880, a man in a dark cloak assaulted respectable women in the streets late in the evening, wounding their breasts or genitals with a sharp instrument. When 29 year old hairdresser, Theophil Mary, was finally arrested, he had clocked up 35 victims. 

Strasbourg Cathedral found here

In July 1894, a French youth was arrested for cutting the buttocks of a large number of young girls in broad daylight. The 19 year old was described as a beardless youth with a timid embarrassed manner. He described how he had, ever since the age of 15, felt a high degree of excitement whenever he saw a woman’s buttocks. 

click image above to play

In Chicago in 1906, a manhunt began for “Jack the Cutter” who stabbed the buttocks of seven females in just one day alone. In the same year, “Jack the Stabber” ran amok in St Louis, also stabbing female bottoms. In 1925 the hunt was on for another American attacker, “The Connecticut Jabber.”

In 1977, “Jack the Snipper” was active on the London Underground. Before the London Transport Police put an end to his fun, he had cut 17 skirts from behind, and exposed their wearers’ backsides to all viewers.  

In 1984, according the The News of the World, a very short and stunted man had attacked nine women in Birmingham, stabbing them in the buttocks. In 1985, this pint sized pervert was still at large…… 

image found here

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://nursemyra.wordpress.com/2011/09/15/show-me-your-bottom/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

52 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. This is why the bum needs to come out, once and for all. An end to buttock stabbers and their filthy ways!

    I always knew Cher was onto something.

  2. If bum stabbing is so widespread, why have I never had mine remotely near a pique? I’d gladly be a harlot for a wine allowance, can’t stand being left out of a trend …

    • Oh yeah, that was the bit I left out. Wine allowance? How can I get me some of that?

      • we’d all like to know

  3. I get excited by lots of things, but rarely need to stab them. unless it’s a good piece of steak…especially rump.

    • I rather like a small piece of fillet, though rump is pretty tasty

  4. IN the late 1940s, in the small town where I lived, a chap who was known as “Mr.Scissors” used to go about the village washing lines, cutting the crotch from women’s knickers. He never hurt anyone. In fact, the local policeman reckoned him harmless…until he cut the PC’s wife’s knickers. :-)

    • This happened to my little sister princess in suburban Sydney in about 1990. All her underpants had the crotch neatly removed on the washing line. She rang the police but they didn’t even show up to investigate.

      • Very creepy

      • Arnold Layne!
        So he did exist!

  5. I think we’ve all learned a lesson here today…

    Beware of fake nosegays.

    • Excellent advice

  6. I was once a fencing teacher….I wonder how many of my students became Piquers.

    • you’re a dark horse aren’t you Affer?

  7. If only we could reprogram the guys to slash the throats of crooked government officials

    • Eeek! I don’t like the idea of throat slashing at all

  8. Initially I was going to make a wry comment about misunderstood foreplay but then things got progressively creepier so…yeah…I’m not going there.

    THANKS for the gif. I had to watch is a few times. Love the skirt.

    • It’s a pretty perfect bottom isn’t it?

  9. “The 19 year old was described as a beardless youth with a timid embarrassed manner. He described how he had, ever since the age of 15, felt a high degree of excitement whenever he saw a woman’s buttocks.

    I’m sixty five and I still get excited when I see a woman’s buttocks. I’m just not sure what to do with them anymore.

    • You could start with a light spanking…..

  10. Bottoms up!

    (what a strange fetish ..but then, that’s the nature of a fetish….)

    • Yes, I can’t think of any fetishes that wouldn’t appear strange to someone

  11. You mess with my wife’s clothes and she would probably agree that it is a crime worse than attempted murder.

  12. I clicked on that image to play, but after 3 hours it got kind of repetitive.

    • snort!:-)

      • *chuckle*

  13. Hahaha… are you trying to say something with that last image, N.M.?!
    I only have a lowly BA, you know… not even a BFA… and it’s a far cry from an MFA… so… I’m safe on this one… right?! :)

    • If the shoe fits…..

  14. Totally bizarre, or…
    (Should I say it?)
    (Yeah, go for it!)
    Okay,……..
    What a pain in the butt! (BOO! HISS!)
    Hey, SOMEBODY had to do it. Might as well be me! ;)

  15. I’m going to confront my boss today and demand a wine allowance.

  16. I’m glad to say nobody’s ever attempted to stab my buttocks, even when I’ve flaunted them conspicuously in broad daylight. Just not stabbable enough, I guess.

  17. Always loved those old ‘hysterias’ like the London Monster. Did you ever read of Spring Heeled Jack? He was not as fixated on bottoms as The Monster, but weird nevertheless (and why are they always called ‘Jack’?)

    • Yes, I thought I’d already done a post on him but can’t find it in the archives so I must have imagined that

      • I have a book about SHJ somewhere. The Wikipedia entry is pretty comprehensive I notice.

  18. As a butt man, I can’t understand the stabby part of this.

    Thank you for the gift…er…gif. ;)

    • you’re welcome

  19. Copper-bottomed pans might be marketed as copper-panned bottoms if these vile acts ever resume.

    (Not that any pathetic repressed sicko would stand a chance against Kung Fu Mitzi.)

  20. There seems to be a common theme going on with all those attackers, but I can quite figure out what it is,

  21. That walking butt shot is a prime example of proper accessorizing. Yeah, it could have just been a naked butt going down the street, but throw in plaid skirt and schoolgirl blouse and the butt-shot doubles in sexiness.

  22. such bizarre attacks with the butts. lucky he didnt have an obsession with hurting one’s face.

  23. You’ve made me anxious – I am now going to make myself a butt protector

    • Ooh photos please Lulu

  24. Having played a lot of cricket I am used to wearing protection for parts of my body. However I have never been tempted to poke a cricket bat into someone’s derrière. Although there WAS that quick who bounced me a few times too many!

  25. We’ve all stabbed a few butts in our time haven’t we?

    A lot of fuss over a bit of harmless smoking! Next thing they’ll be telling me to quit and pay attention to the world, ridiculous!

    The King

  26. Well, if you’re going to obsess over a female body part, that would be my pick. I mean, sure, the face is usually the first thing you look at, but then it’s the butt. What were those lyrics by Alanis Morissette? It went something like, “he took a long hard look at my ass and then played golf for a while.” Not being much into golf, I guess I’d still be looking at her ass.

  27. Breasts and bottoms look boringly alike. Faces, though, can be quite different and a damn sight more interesting! – Lee Remick – discuss

  28. LOL at the difference between an artist and a pervert ;)

  29. True, I moved to Birmingham in 1984 but don’t think for one moment that I am the ‘pint-sized pervert’ !!! :evil:

  30. Ah a favourite scare! I can add the Halifax Slasher of 1938 to your list too. A textbook case of mass hysteria

  31. I’d heard of Jack the Ripper, and a few of those other weirdos before, but never Rhynwick the “Butt Cutter”

    Wow…That’s Too Weird.

    God Bless You
    paul

  32. Bet it was hard to get to the bottom of these crimes.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 164 other followers

