frog covering for boner

the pelvic bone of a frog was once believed to be a magical charm. In The Golden Bough, J G Frazer writes

galvanic-twitch

“Catch a frog on St George’s Day, wrap it in white linen and put it on an anthill for ants to eat its flesh. All that will be left is two small bones, one shaped like a hook and the other like a shovel. Take the hook shaped bone to the girl of your choice, hook it into her dress and she will fall head over heels in love with you. Afterwards, if you tire of her, touch her with the shovel shaped bone and her affection will vanish.”

help-im-hooked

Eastern Counties Magazine (1901) tells of Tilly Baldry whose skills included a magic spell to make her adulterous husband walk home backwards 16 miles from his mistress’ house and the ability to stop milk turning to butter. This is how she did it:

“you ketch a hopping toad and carry it in your bosom until it’s rotted away to the backbone. Hold the bone over running water at midnight until the Devil comes and makes you a witch. You kin then dew all manner of badness to people and hev power over ’em.”

For those of you who prefer to play around with images rather than ketching and carrying rotting amphibians, here’s a tutorial on how to create a robotic frog instead

robotic-frog


Published in: on March 9, 2009 at 7:10 am  Comments (29)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://nursemyra.wordpress.com/2009/03/09/frog-covering-for-boner/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

29 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. ‘you ketch a hopping toad and carry it in your bosom until it’s rotted away to the backbone. Hold the bone over running water at midnight until the Devil comes and makes you a witch. You kin then dew all manner of badness to people and hev power over ‘em.”’

    Surely stabbing him with a bread knife while he sleeps is easier.

  2. I wonder if that’s how the expression “boning a woman” originated?

  3. Cool tutorial on the robotic frog. Spooky, even. I loves me some photoshop. But you won’t catch me with rotting frogs in my bosom. I can be a witch without going to those extremes.

  4. I do like the idea of a robotic frog. There are a few women I’d like to try the pelvic bone trick on. I mean, how could it not work?

  5. “You kin then dew all manner of badness to people and hev power over ‘em.”

    what? i need a frog bone to do this?

  6. I hope the TG doesn’t read this – it could make my life very complicated ……

  7. daddyp – ask yourself where I got the information from in the first place…..

  8. “Honey, what’s the name of that peculiar new fragrance you’re wearing? What’s that? Rotting Toad Against My Bosom?”

    “I’ll be at my mistresses.”

  9. so frog pheromones don’t make you horny UB?

  10. I thought you had to lick the frog to get the benefits or is that cane toads? Still nice to see your interest in the supernatural!
    Bruce
    http://brucemhood.wordpress.com/

  11. Bastards! When nice little frogs take over the world I hope they bury all these superstitious nutty people in anthills. We should make a start on their behalf in my view.

  12. And my copy of “The Golden Bough” is 2,000 Km away – I would love to be able to view that quote in context. Oh well, I shall continue with “The God Delusion” instead – – –

    there’s always Gutenberg if you can’t wait

  13. Oh Bollocks!

    I did it on St.Stephens Day.

    That’s so embarassing.

    No wonder Britney Spears won’t answer my calls.

    hi Tom, nice to see you back here again you sexy thing

  14. I’ve never heard of this over here in the USA. Here we believe that eating oysters and clams will increase the size of a man’s member.

    I haven’t tried this yet, not because I don’t like seafood, but because I don’t need to (according to the misses).

    Thomas 🙂

  15. Poor frogs… 😦

  16. The Eastern Counties Magazine should have sacked their proofreader. What really happens is the Devil comes and makes you a sandwich.

  17. I don’t know anything about members. But I spent a whole day eating oysters and my cock is still the size of a baby carrot.

    And they made me sick. I demand a refund!

  18. At least yours doesn’t look like a baby carrot. Mine is orange with green sprouty bits on the end.

    oh poor Mrs Xoggoth

  19. And here I was just a frog leg man…

  20. Dear lawd! I thought you just had to kiss a lot of frogs?

    *shudder*

  21. I don’t know about you, but a man only has to show me his frog bones and I’m putty in his hands.

  22. The ability to stop milk from turning to butter? Surely the person possessing such a power would be the archenemy of the Amish, or of an Amish-centric superhero like The Churnalator or The Incredible BarnRaiser.

  23. womaninblack: you and I are cut from the same cloth:-)

    renalfailure: Perhaps either Ninja Vicki or Crimson Paraplegic could add that to her repertoire

  24. Awww Thanks nursie.

    Nice to be back.

    xxx

  25. There’s 3 feet of snow on the ground here, ergo, no frogs.

    Guess I have to wait till spring to dew badness and hev power. Sigh.

  26. Hmm, I wonder how a frog rotting in your bra smells? I think I’ll stay away from Frogs altogether … I don’t even like to kiss ’em.

  27. It seems to me that touching a woman with any kind of frog bones is likely to mostly effective for repelling. Other kinds of bones might do some attracting…

  28. No suggestions for a girl to ‘hook’ a guy?

  29. I think you manage just fine without help Kat 🙂


Leave a Reply

