torpedo penis

Male anglerfish are much smaller than their female counterparts. The males actually attach themselves to an attractive female, becoming her sexual appendages. They only have a few teeth, adapted for piercing and holding on to their mate, plus a propulsive tail fin which makes them a sort of sexual torpedo. 

angler2

image found here

“When he finds a female, he bites into her skin, and releases an enzyme that digests the skin of his mouth and her body, fusing the pair down to the blood-vessel level. The male then atrophies into nothing more than a pair of gonads, which release sperm in response to hormones in the female’s bloodstream indicating egg release”

Dolphins have an interesting sex life too. Homosexuality is common with males having anal intercourse with each other and even using their blowholes to perform fellatio. Think about that if you’re ever chilling out withthis strange little item called a Zen Dolphin Relaxation Aid

relaxation-dolphin

When I think of torpedoes, it’s not necessarily the anglerfish that comes to mind but it is usually the underwater type. If you’re interested in seeing what an on-ground torpedo looks like go here to see what the Russians were doing in WW2 

torpedo

more photos here


Published in: on March 15, 2009 at 7:55 am  Comments (30)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://nursemyra.wordpress.com/2009/03/15/torpedo-penis/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

30 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. “The male then atrophies into nothing more than a pair of gonads” – kind of like when I was married.

  2. well I guess you won’t be doing that again in a hurry

  3. as for the male angler fish: OH MY GOD!

    as for the gay dolphins . . . nope, got nothing . . . sorry. 🙂

  4. How about the on ground Russian torpedoes? there are some great images on that site

  5. The anglerfish thing is depressing (and I am a zoologist for pity’s sake), so lets drink some vodka. Vashe Zdarovye (Cheers).

  6. Once again I find myself contributing a comment to a Gimcrack page on deviant animal sex. I don’t know about dolphins, but you if you desire to get a bit closer to cetacean lurv there is always the “Orca” as featured in this list. I would have to say that some of the featured items here may cause distress, and not only to sensitive minds.

    http://www.cracked.com/article_16032_25-most-disturbing-sex-toys.html

  7. I’ve featured some of those on the Gimcrack before…. not the Orca though…..

  8. I did remember seeing a few of them here, and wished I hadn’t seen a few of them at all. The fake foot with vagina in heel and moustache with lips toys give me the utter creeps.

  9. sorry about that mothboy 😉

  10. Have you seen Ricky Gervais’ skit on gay animals. *giggle*

    I’d love to watch it Dolce but my speakers are kaput. Temporarily I hope….

  11. I dated a Dolphin once. The sex was great…but she always wanted to be the center of attention and I couldn’t compete.

    She made a lousy breakfast as well.

  12. Ha ha, the “Houdini Locking Steel Cock Chastity” is nothing. I could easily slip out of that. Oh wait…OMG, what am I admitting.

    hahahahaha…..

  13. I’ve asked this question before – but does anyone know what a dolphin steak tastes like? …… surely someone has tucked into dolphin …….

  14. BTW…finally got around to updating my blog roll and you made the list!!!

    hey thanks bearman. my “daily reads” roll is limited to 25 but it rotates frequently so you’ll see yourself there from time to time too

  15. The animal kingdom has it so easy. Find a blow hole and away you go! I usually have to buy dinner followed by relentless begging.

  16. EnglishRussia has long been one of my favorite sites. I especially love the collections of old photos.

    Re: blowhole blowjobs, that is truly nightmare food! Thank you for not including photos of chimpanzees drinking their own piss…

    I see that at the gimcrack every day

  17. that female angler fish looks pretty gnarly. suspect she’s capable of turning even the most manly of fish into a flapping set of ‘nads.

    love the ‘ground torpedos’. those guys were pretty brave/crazy to be mucking around with ‘molten TNT’.

  18. These are the same Russians I had to hide under my desk for? Wow, they suck.

    As to be nothing more than a “pair of gonads”, it is written as if it’s a bad thing. I love my gonads!

  19. Relaxation aids always make me as nervous as a cat in a room full of rocking chairs. I once had to leave a Progressive Relaxation workshop that I was forced into during massage training because I was about to jump out of my skin. I can’t imagine what a battery-operated dolphin would do to me.

    But then there’s this, for all dolphin fanciers and fans of luscious Chinglish.
    http://www.carlisledining.com/b2b/reading_glasses/2/dolphin_style_massage_51.html

    “loses weight partly”? that’s a good selling point

  20. Land torpedo? Don’t we just call those things missiles? Or are they missiles on wheels?

    Support gay dolphin marriage!

  21. Isn’t nature wonderful … full of free uninhibited sex. We humans just never get it right … we made the mistake of adding drugs and rock and roll.

  22. I, on the other hand, thing drugs and rock and roll can sometimes enhance sex.

    BTW, have you seen the pictures of the cool pink albino dolphin?”

  23. No I’d never heard of a pink dolphin – he’s gorgeous. wonder if he’s gay?

  24. For the first time in my life, I don’t know what to say. The posts about sex are just more and more bizarre each time.

  25. My new girlfriend called me her “little anglerfish.” At the time, I thought it was cute but now I’m kind of worried.

  26. OMG I will look a dear Flipper in a different way from now on .. all my childhood nice things about the friendly dolphin have just flown out of the window !!!

  27. Are there really homosexual dolphins?

    Hey, I saw over at VE’s place that you mentioned you’ve been to Pitcairn Island. I would LOVE LOVE LOVE to hear about it. I have long had a dream to visit there. Or even to live there, but that may be more like a nightmare. 🙂

    Actually Teri it was Norfolk Island that I lived on for several months – but it’s close enough to Pitcairn and the inhabitants are all descended from the Bounty too

  28. i thought all male species were simply gonads that attached themselves to females?

  29. so i guess there isn’t too much foreplay involved….

    sux to be an anglerfish

  30. Clever those Russians. Who knew the blow hole lived up to its name?


Leave a Reply

