corset friday 12.6.2009

spiderwoman 008 spiderwoman 004 spiderwoman 006

I have fond memories of this spiderwoman corset. I wore it when Stephen was working on a 2006 installation that featured a one armed spiderman. Click the link below to see his wild version

Accumulations/Accretions

PS: I don’t usually have offers to join in Corset Friday but tigereyesal has indeed done just this. go over here and tell her how great she looks

Published in: on June 12, 2009 at 8:41 am  Comments (44)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://nursemyra.wordpress.com/2009/06/12/corset-friday-12-6-2009/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

44 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Great colour! I have only one question… where does one source yak hair from?

  2. Oh my!!!! Are u by any chance into hobbit-sized women? (That would be me by the way :P)

    • height is never an issue πŸ˜‰

  3. great costume! especially love the ‘webbing’ at the top!

  4. YIPEE! IT’S CORSET FRIDAY! (the highlight of my week)

  5. You weave a captivating web in your corset.

  6. Wonderfully colourful outfit, Nurse.

    @omnambulist – one should not sauce yak hair – it is best eaten in its natural state –

  7. Aw, Spider-man looks like he is part kitty.

  8. I remember that!!!! the installation not the corset …… obviously …….. mind you, it is memorable …

  9. A propos to nothing except perhaps Engrish… I noticed this and thought you’d like it, nurse. Happy Friday!

    http://thoughtworld.wordpress.com/2009/06/12/india-incredible-it-happens-only-in-india/#comment-128

  10. {Gasp!} I almost forgot it was Corset Friday! A nice ending to my week. My husband’s late for work now. (smile)

  11. I dare say both images will now haunt my dreams.

  12. Nice, I just shot webs all over the monitor.

    • good one unclekeith

  13. I’m playing along this week, too…

    TigereyeSal’s Corset Friday

    http://tigereyesal.blogspot.com/2009/06/my-homage-to-corset-friday.html

  14. oooh, you look like a cheeky little devil. Got a tail, and a pitchfork?

  15. Just How Many Corsets do you have?

    You must have a very large closet.

    And what happens when you run out of corsets?
    What happens to Corset Fridays then?
    Eh? huh?

  16. Corset Fridays sans corsets 😯

    I can’t wait πŸ˜†

    • P.S. got myself a new digital camera a few weeks ago – if you want someone to help take these Corset Friday pics for you, I’m your man !!!

      P.P.S. I’m a bit strapped for cash at the moment but if you send a return air ticket- me and camera will be with you ‘tout de suite’ πŸ˜‰

      • duncanr, always willing to go the extra mile.

  17. Damn, I’d almost forgotten. Now I can visualize something that will almost assure a car wreck on the way home from the office. What a way to go.

  18. Looks like it would fit right in with a Star Trek movie too!

  19. I followed you here from yorksandbeans. Do all the nurses look that good where…dang, I can’t wait to get sick…cheers.

    • hi italco, new readers are always welcome here

  20. Lovely.

  21. Hi! Why do I feel such a closet reader everytime I come here? No regrets mind you as being naughty but nice does have its advantages, especially when its corset friday!

  22. Nice one! And great installation too.

    • thanks azahar

      • Just came across these and thought you might like them…

        Tactical Corsets

  23. Beautiful as ever dear NM πŸ™‚ & how fabulous does TigereyeSal look too …. needless to say shall only be participating on T-shirt Friday (doubt if any of my corsets will fit me anymore lol)

  24. So Peter Criss from Kiss is a one-armed Spiderman fighting a giant camel spider and losing? Now this is art I can support.

    If you’re Spiderwoman then I’m Doctor Octopus. One guess where you’ll find my tentacles.

  25. I like the way you see things renalfailure. Stephen preferred people to interpret his art in their own way. the giant spider has a face which is not so apparent in this image. the face is unidentified, but for the sake of argument not unlike, let’s say, Ayotollah Khomeini. My interpretation is that the one armed spiderman represents America. as to who is winning this dance-off, it’s anybody’s guess.

    But that’s just the way I see it. He had three exhibitions that were around this particular theme. Most of his other work depicted trees and often included inanimate objects such as the moon or mushrooms which he anthropomorphisized

  26. That spider IS very menacing; the photo is very evocative, and I can imagine that the installation itself was moreso.

  27. A very cool installation, Nursemyra. Thanks for sharing that…

  28. There is a version of Spiderman where he has a daughter and she becomes a spider woman and he has lost his leg in a battle. I like what your husband did here.

    You can always use the costume to fight crime!

    • Stephen and I weren’t married Ricardo. And I didn’t know about the comic Spiderman losing a leg, S. did an installation like that as well with his spiderman on crutches…..

  29. I must say.. You have a sweet rack and a nice tight bod for an “older” woman…

    Keep up the good work. πŸ˜€

  30. What is your opinion on subsidizing the arts? They do that here in the US. Personally, I think it’s bullshit.. It obliterates the idea of the “starving artist” and now many museums here are filled with utter shit that a minority of people consider “art”.. The Whitney Museaum is a prime example.. Once a stellar museum, it is now filled with shit by subsidized artists..

    You want to make art, then do it on your own dime.

    Just my opinion. πŸ˜‰

    • I’m not well enough informed about the issue to comment yet. If by being subsidised the artist then makes art primarily to satisfy a sponsor’s criteria or so it will sell then I’m against it.

      Also I don’t know anything at all about subsidised art in the US. Here in Australia artists with an proven body of work can apply for grants to live in studios overseas in cities such as New York or Paris for a few months. I think that’s a great opportunity for dedicated artists and am all in favour of more public money going to projects like that.

  31. This is my first corset Friday and I just love the red and black!! I’m assuming you must have quite a selection of them since you’ve dedicated a one day a week post to them! Would corsets happen to be your fetish? Now, that I think about it, I believe you did mention that on my post. πŸ˜‰

    • Thanks YnB. I’ve got them in almost every colour under the sun. shame I no longer have someone to wear them for but at least my collection gets exposure once a week πŸ˜‰

  32. The installation speaks of ‘Truce’ to me.
    You have a nice collarbone.

  33. Very spidery of you. I like the installation, too.

  34. Thanks guys


Leave a Reply

