be inspired at 10:23

Eric Satie is one of my favourite composers, his beautiful melodies have often brought tears to my eyes. A renowned eccentric, after his death they found in his wardrobe 84 identical handkerchieves, 12 identical velvet costumes and dozens of umbrellas. Here he explains his working habits in “The Musician’s Day”

An artist must organise his life. Here is the exact timetable of my daily activities.

Get up: 7:18 am; be inspired 10:23 to 11:47 am.

charlotte rampling by teller

image of Charlotte Rampling found here

Take lunch: 12:11 pm; leave table at 12:14 pm.

Healthy horse-riding out in the grounds: 1:19 to 2:53 pm

horse riding

More inspiration: 3:12 to 4:07 pm.

cello

Various activities (fencing, reflection, immobility, visits, contemplation, swimming etc.): 4:21 to 6:47 pm.

errol fencing

Dinner is served at 7:16 and ends at 7:20 pm

Then come symphonic readings out loud 8:09 to 9:49 pm.

I go to bed regularly at 10:37 pm. Once a week on Tuesdays I wake with a start at 3:19 am

I can only eat white foods: eggs, sugar, scraped bones, fat from dead animals, veal, salt, coconuts, chicken cooked in white water, rice, turnips, things like pasta, white cheese, cotton salad and certain fish.

mermaid

I boil my wine and drink it cold mixed with fuchsia juice. I have a good appetite, but never talk while eating, for fear of strangling myself.

I breathe carefully a little at a time.

oxygen inhaler

My sleep is deep but I keep one eye open. My bed is round with a hole cut out to let my head through. Once every hour a servant takes my temperature.

taking temperature

I have long subscribed to a fashion magazine. I wear a white bonnet, white stockings and a white waistcoat.

radio hat

My doctor has always told me to smoke. Part of his advice runs “Smoke away, my dear chap. If you don’t someone else will.”

Tiparillo

Published in: on October 5, 2009 at 5:13 am  Comments (33)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://nursemyra.wordpress.com/2009/10/05/be-inspired-at-1023/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

33 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I do have a problem when waking with a start. I can never get it to happen at 2.16am. It is always at 3.19am and I feel so derivative when that happens.

  2. archie, you always make me smile 😉

  3. AIKSSS!!!!

    I honestly don’t know if i should admire the fella for having such discipline or to feel sorry for him, cos it seems like he’s bordering on freaky :p

  4. I am so keen to be inspired at 10.23 tomorrow morning!

    I wonder if The King will oblige with the piano?

    • Now that would be really inspirational!

  5. I enjoy the Satie I have heard. Was he responsible for Pictures at the Exhibition or some-such? Also a little opera about a black cat and a white cat, and a kid who learns magic?

    Actually he sounds like an Asberger’s Sydndrome chap as they tend to have strict colour schemes for certain things, and strict orderliness with numbers, which could be reflected in his timed schedule.

    • sounds like Asperger’s to me too

  6. I understand the urge to plan and schedule, though comfortably, not compulsively. One could wonder about those very brief meals. He must have been either eating very little or not chewing well. Eric the “wolf of the egg white” seems unlikely. I’m not familiar with how much chewing cotton salad requires. I do love his music- perfect for introspection or for indulging in some deep sadness. In the good way!

    Don Andout

  7. I don’t notice any commuting in his schedule. Lucky man! Mrs. Wife’s uncle will only eat white food. No veggies at all. He’s a complete mess and has cancer but doesn’t see the connection.

  8. sounds like a really bad date… but for some reason, i’m compelled to take up piano…

    • I’ll be the cello in your band daisyfae

      • And I’ll take pictures.

  9. I love Eric Satie as well. First found him in a tiny arty shop, in a tiny village in Cornwall …… thanks for the reminder Nursey …. *digs through CD wallet to download to puta*

  10. WOW!
    how do you come up with all of this?

  11. This has given me so many more question than answers. How could he eat a meal in 4 minutes? What did he do for his inspiration? Why the hole in the bed, and why the temperature taking?

    He must have had either mild autism, asperger’s syndrome or a really fun, over the top case of OCD. At least he didn’t eat the fat from live animals.

    I agree, it is beautiful music!

  12. I’m curious as to which eye he kept open while he slept.

  13. Where do you get all these pieces? And your pictures are always great and unusual.

    • I mostly get my ideas from the books that I read

  14. I love the woman as a cello. Very cool.

  15. If I’m scheduling myself to wake with a start at 3:19 in the morning, it’d better be because of an eager woman.

  16. “My sleep is deep but I keep one eye open. My bed is round with a hole cut out to let my head through. Once every hour a servant takes my temperature.”

    Head through where and for what?

    Does he get it orally or rectally. Which would be less likely to wake you?

    • the mind boggles doesn’t it?

  17. Wow, with that diet and smoking habit, what did they day at 25?

  18. If I was a musical instrument, I’d be a harp. That way, you could pluck me.

    • And if you were a trumpet. . .

      • naughty naughty spinach pie 😉

  19. He either eats very tiny portions or does it like a tasmanian devil. (the one from the Bugs Bunny cartoons. I have no idea how a real one eats . . .)

  20. i can understand why he spends so little time at meals. his diet was awful. white foods? everything but white chocolate.

    • I like potatoes – they’re white aren’t they?

  21. ‘My bed is round with a hole cut out to let my head through’

    Thats the what the hole in my bed is for, honest…

    No but really, what? Where is is head going?

  22. I wonder what he did during the in-between times?

  23. […] via […]


Leave a Reply

