Him I would shoot

Back in the 1950s Zsa Zsa Gabor was famous as a panelist on Bachelor’s Haven.

Zsa Zsa

“Zsa Zsa is often peremptory. When she senses that a man does not meet her rigid standards she dismisses the offender with a curt “Him I would shoot“. One man wrote in “I gave my fiancée a fraternity pin, a ring, some china, black lace lingerie, a stove and a bed. Then she broke our engagement and refused to return any of my gifts. What shall I do?” Said Zsa Zsa “She should give back the stove.”

she should give back the stove

To a woman who complained that “My husband travels with other women” Zsa Zsa suggested “Shoot him in the legs.” A bachelor wrote “I have a lot of oil wells. Do you think that I should marry now that I am 50 years old?” Zsa Zsa answered “For this man life is beginning. He is now becoming interesting. I do not think I should just give him advice, I should see this man personally.”

image

Zsa Zsa had many husbands and lovers including Conrad Hilton, George Sanders and Porfirio “my profession is Playboy” Rubirosa otherwise known as The Love Machine. Rumour has it that waiters referred to the largest pepper-mill in the house as “the Rubirosa.” Porfirio jilted Zsa Zsa to marry heiress Barbara Hutton but just ten weeks later he took the private plane Hutton had bought him as a wedding present and flew back into Zsa Zsa’a arms. The reunion lasted three years until he left her for yet another heiress, Doris Duke, attracting world wide publicity for smoking a cigarette throughout their wedding ceremony.

image

Zsa Zsa’s divorce from George Sanders freed him up to marry her sister Magda. Her other sister Eva, who is mostly known for her role as the ditzy wife in Green Acres, was instrumental in popularising the game Twister.

“Milton Bradley, the games company, was dubious about a game that had so little to it and that used humans as the playing pieces. That was, however, to be its selling point. That became clear after chat show host Johnny Carson played it live on TV with the actress Eva Gabor. The sight of Eva on all fours in a low-slung dress with Johnny Carson contorting over her was enough. It was, complained competitors, ‘sex in a box’. And thus the game became the runaway craze of 1967.

image

Published in: on November 2, 2010 at 7:11 am  Comments (47)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://nursemyra.wordpress.com/2010/11/02/him-i-would-shoot/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

47 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I have always loved the Gabor sisters. Beautiful, stylish, enchanting and with fantastic senses of humour. It kind of makes me sad that Zsa Zsa was just another grind for the pepper mill. He doesn’t sound enchanting at all.

    • Eva was my favourite

      • Mine too. How did Zsa Zsa end up with the creep she did.

  2. The Gabors make latter-day socialite ‘stars’ like Paris Hilton, Lindsay Lohan etc look like what they are: amateurs!

    • In a nutshell!Amateurs.

      • Yeah… can’t see Zsa Zsa participating in a sex tape scandal. Unless there were diamonds involved of course.

  3. Wonder what it was like to grow up in that Gabor household, producing such icons in film/entertainment.

    • I believe the mama had a similar personality to her daughters

      • Funny how some of us turn out so much like parents; others do our best to be the opposite. And the rest of us are just like them but pretend to be otherwise. Are we kidding ourselves?

  4. How could anyone have thought Twister wouldn’t sell?

    “You see, the whole point is that the game requires you to become entangled with the other players while you move on the board. Physically entangled!”

    “…I just don’t know Bob. I mean, are men and women really going to want to get that close together to play a game? I mean all of that contact is bound to arouse some sort of… ah… Okay, I’m sorry. I’ve got it now. Let’s send it over to marketing.”

    • you know what? I’ve never played it

      • Me either. I don’t think my “hockey” knee would like it. We played “sardines” though.;-)

      • You’re better off just having the sex. That way you don’t have to wait for the right color to get spun on the wheel for you to try and cop an off-balanced feel on someone.

  5. I would like to grind a Rubirosa in my kitchen.

    • Me too. Not that particular cad but someone with the same physical attribute

  6. zsa zsa – such a great name and I never knew what she did

    • Her name was actually Sari.

  7. Zsa Zsa must have been quite a sensation when she was young. I arrived here after her heyday.

    • I think all my readers arrived after her heyday. Except maybe Archie 😉

      • I’m sayin’ nuttin’.

        I was always much more interested in Mrs Loren’s daughter.

      • I remember her on the Tonight show.

  8. the gabor sisters were far more entertaining than the hilton spawn. “Him I would shoot” is a far better tag line than “That’s Hawt…”

    • I keep hearing it in my mind as “Him I vould shoot darlink”

  9. all the sisters were hot. George Sanders was one sister short of hitting the Triple Crown. my hat’s off to him (if i actually wore a hat). and, yeah, Eva was my favorite. probably because i thought i’d be much better for her than Eddie Albert.

    • I hear Eddie was well hung….

  10. I know I am largely repeating what earlier posters have said but modern celebs are not a patch on the likes of Zsa Zsa. You might as well compare an awkward actor to the master of awkwardness – Klaus Kinski… all others are just amateurs

    • Ah Krazy Klaus! Have you seen Werzog’s documentary about him?

      • I certainly have. The man was an absolute head case!

  11. whoa, that was interesting information about zsa zsa! also i didnt know george sanders married her sister, that had to suck!

    • She might have been very happy to offload him…..

      • yes so true!

  12. The Gabors were always larger than life in just about everything they did. Hollywood was a different place during their time. Zsa Zsa would never have been treated back then like she was in this day and age. Kind of sad, come to think of it.

  13. I loved Zsa Zsa! I always thought her name was so exotic. When I was a kid I wanted her accent, even though I could never understand a word she said.

  14. I admire George Sanders for taking on both sisters. He may have been a cad, but at least he gave them a fair crack of the whip. I always think that his suicide note was a classic, in a very sad way.

  15. Was it Zsazsa who claimed to be an expert housekeeper?
    “Every time I dee-vorze a man, I keep z’house, darlink!”

    • Yep – that’s one of her lines

  16. What is a person supposed to do with the chin strap?

    • “It keeps your wig securely in place while your wig is being combed, brush or styled.” All you do is attach a clip to either side of your fake hair and tighten the noose around your neck by sliding the “decorative ring”. The final instruction, as if written for an idiot, is “comb or brush your wig into desired style.”

  17. Ahh, Zsa Zsa was so HOT! Like Elizabeth Taylor

    • I think Liz was far hotter in her day than any of the Gabors. Those breasts, those violet eyes, that tiny waist, the alabaster skin…..

  18. Her life is one Lifetime Movie that I would gladly watch!

  19. Did You know Zsa Zsa was in her youth the lover of Ataturk?

  20. I would totally steal that zebra swimsuit.

    Though I suppose I would first be forced to steal her body.

  21. Eva could strap it on, baby.

  22. Yeah she’s a real piece of work. I recall her getting in trouble a while back for slapping a cop. LOL! She’s got moxie but I heard she had fallen gravelly ill as of late.

  23. I love sex in a box. Twister? Meh.

  24. Twister. Is. Awesome.


Leave a Reply

