bloody hell! all she needed was a big mac

There have been many people who claim to be stigmatics: Cloretta Robertson, Padre Pio, Louise Lateau and Gemma Galgani are just a few.

image

Therese Neumann, was born in 1898.

In 1918 Therese was partially paralyzed after falling off a stool while attending to a fire in her uncle’s barn. She sustained more falls and injuries during this period. After one particular fall she claimed to have lost much of her eyesight. In 1919, she was blinded completely. Bedridden, she reportedly developed horrible bed sores that sometimes exposed bone.

image

Therese reported that her eyesight was restored on April 29, 1923—the day Therese of Lisieux was beatified in Rome. She had been praying novenas in advance of this day. On May 17, 1925 Therese of Lisieux was fully canonized as a saint in the Catholic Church. Therese Neumann said the saint called to her and then cured her of her paralysis and bed sores.

Therese would later apparently develop the stigmata. On Good Friday, according to her own testimony, she witnessed the entire Passion of Christ in her visions. She displayed wounds on her hands and feet accompanied by blood apparently coming from her eyes.  By November 5, 1926, she displayed nine wounds on her head as well as wounds on her back and shoulders. According to several sources these wounds never healed or became infected.

From the years of 1922 until her death in 1962, Therese Neumann apparently consumed no food other than The Holy Eucharist, and claimed to have drunk no water from 1926 until her death.

Monstrance for holding Eucharist

In July 1927 a medical doctor and four Franciscan nurses kept a watch on her 24 hours a day for a two-week period. They confirmed that she had consumed nothing except for one consecrated sacred Host a day, and had suffered no ill effects, loss of weight, or dehydration.

image

Inedia is the ability to live without food. The word was first used to describe a fasting lifestyle within Catholic tradition, which holds that certain saints were able to survive for extended periods of time without food or drink other than the Eucharist. Breatharianism is a related concept, in which believers claim food and possibly water are not necessary, and that humans can be sustained solely by prana (the vital life force in Hinduism), or according to some, by the energy in sunlight.

you get these muscles by living on air?

“Wiley Brooks is founder of the Breatharian Institute of America. In 1983 he was reportedly observed leaving a 7-Eleven with a Slurpee, hot dog and Twinkies. He told Colors magazine in 2003 that he periodically breaks his fasting with a cheeseburger and a cola, explaining that when he’s surrounded by junk culture and junk food, consuming them adds balance.

Twinkie-henge found here

In the “Question and Answer” section of his website, Brooks explains that the “Double Quarter-Pounder with Cheese” meal from McDonald’s possesses a specialbase frequency” and that he thus recommends it as occasional food for beginning breatharians. He then goes on to reveal that Diet Coke is “liquid light”.

image

Published in: on December 6, 2010 at 7:48 am  Comments (37)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://nursemyra.wordpress.com/2010/12/06/bloody-hell-all-she-needed-was-a-big-mac/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

37 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I’ve just begun reading about the breatharians. Once I saw how pissed off the fundamental Christians were at them I knew they’d be entertaining at least.

    An enemy of my enemy is my friend. And all that!

    • Keep your friends close and your enemies closer….

  2. Cor Blimey, glad I didn’t have to wash old Therese’s bed linen …
    All that talk of cheeseburgers has me ready to gnaw at my keyboard.

  3. I’d like to blow the trumpets of Jericho – send the walls (or perhaps pants) tumbling down!

    • I bet lots of pants tumble when you’re in town Mitzi

  4. So, we’re saying the path to enlightenment lies beneath the golden arches…?

  5. Rumor has it that Therese tried walking on water – but kept sinking due to the nail holes in her feet…

    • haha….. she should have tried plugging them with cork

  6. Many years ago I knew a fellow who, among other things, collected religious paraphenalia. One day he showed me a newspaper article about a guy in Quebec who had a bleeding cross. It was a miracle, a chance to prove the existence of God in our lifetime. My friend was organizing a bus trip, a pilgrimage. Fortunately, he the charlatan was exposed before any money was paid to the bus company.

  7. Ah the Breatharians… I think that they got it a bit wrong about diet coke.. more liquid shite than liquid light!

    • Ugh… I won’t go near the stuff

  8. I knew I shouldn’t be going to Burger King…

  9. I’m working on developing a good case of inedia. It should would make things simpler. And cheaper.

  10. Either you live on air or you don’t. If you are advocating the occasional cheeseburger and coke, diet or not, you aren’t living on air.

  11. I did once try not eating and living on the cosmic life force instead but after I lost consciousness in a shopping mall I decided the cosmic life force must for some reason be avoiding me.

  12. I need some balance…I better get to McDonald’s for a Big Mac…maybe 7/11 for a Slurpee…some twinkies would be nice…

  13. I’m meeting my breatharian support group and McDonalds for lunch and Dunkin Donuts for Dinner.

    • Slurpee for a midnight snack?

  14. Sounds like a Flake. Not the Cadbury kind.

  15. I get angry when people buy into the whole stigmata hokum. I’ll bet the sores would close up if they removed all the sharp objects from the house.

    I do, however, believe in the occasional double quarter pounder with cheese. Makes me hungry just thinking about it.

  16. Double Quarter Pounders with Cheese are a good way to get rid of a New Year’s Day hangover. Nothing like something greasy and fat to soak up all that lingering alcohol in your body. That is the only time I ever eat McDonald’s, when I need something more toxic than alcohol.

  17. I can’t live without sex, hence I am slowly dying

    • Does your wife know Malach?

  18. I sure do wish I could live as a Breatharian. I need to lose a few pounds. My friends and I once went on a Tour de Slurpee, where we sampled slurpees from each of the local 7-Elevens. We also made one prank phone call from each location. That was years ago… Husband loved the Twinkie Henge.

  19. Not so sure if after a nice fast McDonalds is the answer…… I’ve tried fasting several times in my life and never made it past lunch! That is a fact!!

  20. Oooo I love stigmata stories. Breatharians are just boring. I mean, my favourite topic of conversation is discussing the merits of last night’s dinner.

    More stigmatics please N-M!!

    • I love breatharian stories, Stigmata martyrs are boring!

      I’m taking a big breath of air right now sponsored by Malboro and I feel great!

      The King

  21. Also, how come there’s no twinkie highway with gridlocked twinkie cars right next to twinkie stonehenge?

  22. I like to have Prana with a side order of fries for lunch.

    That stigmata stuff is just gross. Makes me happy to be a crazy Jew.

  23. nobody repeatedly falls off a stool repeatedly. i wonder if anyone looked at the uncle- because this sounds more like a case of abuse than a religious miracle.

  24. What a visual treat.. First the lovely man and then the Twinkies! OMG…who woulda thought of making Stonehenge from Twinkies? I can’t imagine what it must take for you to find this great images!

  25. (But) food is fun!

  26. I personally think any belief system that supports macdonalds ought to have a stake in the company.
    If not they are stupid. lol

  27. Hmmm… it seems I know several dedicated breatharians.

  28. Not sure which I’d rather see, Stone Henge or Twinkie Henge. Decisions, decisions.

  29. The only thing a double quarter pounder with cheese is going to do is clog up your arteries.

    • Or your toilet.


Leave a Reply

