Mamie’s memories

Mamie Van Doren has led a pretty wild life which she enjoys sharing with others. One of her first studio dates was with Rock Hudson.

Mamie found here

“Oh, there were rumors about Rock even then. Some of the other actresses under contract had told me that on a date with Rock, I would be as safe as though I was in my mother’s arms. It was, in fact, a publicity stunt on the part of the studio to get Rock out on the town with the newest sexy starlet in their stable.

Rock found here

I was ready when the doorbell rang, done up in a prom-queen gown that the studio’s Wardrobe Department had created for the occasion. It had a strapless, beaded bodice and layer after layer of crinolines under the skirt.

Rock and I sat at a table with Joan Crawford and her date. Joan was pounding down the booze with a vengeance, eyeing me from time to time the way a barracuda eyes a crippled grouper. She snubbed me totally except to loudly proclaim that I must have diligently fucked my way to the threshold of stardom where I then stood.

Joan found here

When the evening was over, Rock took me home. My parents were asleep, and we tiptoed into the kitchen where we necked, panting heavily, and sank to the floor. I helped Rock unzip his fly, only to discover that it was no pebble he was hiding in there. Zowie! Rock was sporting a boulder! He rolled on top, but found himself engulfed in a cloud of crinoline.

Conversation skirts found here

I tried to guide him inside me but couldn’t reach him through the forest of underskirts. We slid on Mother’s waxed linoleum, struggling for traction.  Rock let out a long sigh and his weight collapsed on top of me. “I’m coming,” he groaned. We got up and repaired the damage as best we could. It’s hard to wipe anything off of crinolines.

I took the dress back to the Wardrobe Department and hurried out before they could look at it. For all I know it’s still hanging there in some dusty corner, un-dry cleaned forty-plus years later, mute and crusty testimony to Rock Hudson’s at least occasional bisexuality.

image found here

Fast forward to when Mamie was appearing in a string of pictures for MGM

“Among them was “The Beat Generation” in which I starred opposite a burly, rough-hewn hunk named Steve Cochran. Steve and I launched into an affair that had the cast and crew whispering behind their hands. No sooner would we finish a scene than we would disappear for a quick fuck while they set up the next shot.

Steve found here

Location never mattered much to me. If I had the urge to do someone in an elevator or a taxi or the swimming pool, that’s where it happened. Steve and I had dated for a short time when I found out that he was also seeing Mae West on a regular basis. He explained that whenever he was called to service Mae, he had to show up with a recent negative test for venereal disease. Mae always liked a man who was dark and dangerous-looking, with large equipment. Steve fit the bill perfectly. If I ever would have participated in a menage a trois, it would have been with Steve and Mae. I was never asked. 

Mae found here

On June 15, 1965, at the age of 48, Steve Cochran died on his yacht off the coast of Guatemala due to an acute lung infection. His body, along with three alive but upset female assistants, remained onboard for ten days since the three women didn’t know how to operate the boat. The boat drifted to shore in Port Champerico, Guatemala and was found by authorities. There were various rumors of foul play and poisoning, and Merle Oberon tried to use her influence to push for further police investigations. No new evidence was found.

Steve found here

Published in: on June 8, 2011 at 10:53 pm  Comments (45)  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://nursemyra.wordpress.com/2011/06/08/mamies-memories/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

45 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Rock preferred men. He was converted early on once reaching Hollywood. Pic of Mamie very statuesque. ( as in I’d break through a marble wall….)

    • Mamie was a stunner in her day

  2. I think Madonna redid that Joan Crawford look in the 80’s

    • I was thinking that very same thing…

      • Me too. Circa ‘Desperately Seeking Susan’.

    • Yes! I spent ages trying to work out whether tat was Madge…

  3. I’d like ten conversation skirts please.

    • Me too…. they’re wonderful aren’t they?

      • Those are excellent! I want some!

  4. That Crawford bird was some piece of work, hey? I prefer Mister Steve’s trousers to a conversation skirt.

    • Do you like a bit of ‘high panting’ cindy?

  5. I’d never heard of a conversation skirt before, and it took me a few minutes to figure out that they’re not normally flat like that.

  6. So Rock was a big fellow then. Did something to the boys and made them cry?.

  7. i love Mamie and Mae. oh, to have a time machine and hang out with those two for a few months….

    • Oh please include me in your time machine!

  8. Mamie Mia!

    The King

    • She’s too old for you Your Majesty.

  9. This was very interesting since I actually knew of the characters in this post. I must admit also that Mamie had my attention from the very first image. She had a rockin’ bod! Damn.

  10. Is it just me or did Joan look a lot like Madonna from the 80s? (or vise versa)

    • No it’s not just you Lynn, it’s a startling resemblance

  11. I’d like to fuck my way to threshold of something close to stardom.

    • Sure, that sounds simple enough — but remember, you’ll have to do it diligently.

  12. poor Steve. what a death.
    Joan’s hot.

  13. Mamie looks a tad chilly …

  14. God, I hope that story about Rock Hudson is true. And as for Steve, if I could die on a yacht surrounded by women, that’d be fine with me!

    • Yeah, but make sure they know how to float the boat first. . .

  15. So, a poodle skirt is just a special kind of conversation skirt?

    The kitchen floor story is just one more reason to hate crinolines. . .

    Gotta love Mae West, who has always been one of my heroes. Requiring current health certificates before action. . . always ahead of her time, that gal was.

    I tried a menage a trois a couple of times in my youth. Perhaps it was the company, but it made me prefer my encounters one on one.

    • I love the bit about the health certificates too

  16. Holy crap, I need a cold shower after reading that.

  17. Looking forward to the holidays?

  18. Did you know that Morrissey was named after Steve Cochran? it’s in the documentary The Importance of Being Morrissey.

    • No I didn’t know that. Interesting……

  19. Wasn’t he gay? No matter, Van Doren was a hot catch regardless or orientation.

  20. Apparently Steve put the “cock” in Cochran.

  21. “…the way a barracuda eyes a crippled grouper.”

    “I tried to guide him inside me but couldn’t reach him through the forest of underskirts.”

    I swear, you post the best excerpts EVER.

  22. Wow! No wonder Rock got it on with Mamie! That woman would convert me to homosexuality. What a babe! I even like the Van Doren name – it’s got that goyisha naughty Nazi thing going for it.

  23. I think Mamie would have had trouble accommodating a boulder, even without the crinolines. Unless she had an exceptionally generous docking area.

    “Ten men waiting for me at the door. Send one of them home, I’m tired.” I love it. Hadn’t heard that one before.

  24. I wonder if Monica Lewinski’s blue dress was crinoline

  25. Mamie had some rather ample boulders, too.

  26. That Van Doren, not so hard on the eyes…Reminds me of a photo I just took…


Leave a Reply

