night creeping

Yobai (or night creeping) is a japanese custom which died out only recently. a bachelor party would be held after shinto rice planting ceremonies, following which the young men would cruise silently around local villages in groups. arriving outside a home known to contain a sleeping maiden, they would play scissors, paper, rock and the lucky winner would get to sleep with her while the others had to move on to the next house

with the tacit sanction of parents who had no doubt found each other in the same way, girls left their bedroom doors open for the occasion. yobai was common knowledge but it had to be discreet. often the young lothario would urinate against the base of the outside sliding door to prevent any noise when it was drawn open. rather as with the spraying of a tomcat, the reek informed other yobai aspirants that this house was already under visit.

“Timeless” was painted by guan zeju, who is chinese not japanese but the image suits the lesson and I wanted an excuse to showcase the work.  more beautiful images by this artist can be found here

text found in “Pink Samurai” by Nicholas Bornoff

Published in: on June 8, 2008 at 9:51 am  Comments (24)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://nursemyra.wordpress.com/2008/06/08/night-creeping/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

24 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. When you say it died out recently … how recently?
    Some jackass peed on my front steps two nights ago.
    Hmmm … That explains all the smiling … I’m gonna have a talk with my wife!

  2. Why do all the good customs die out?

  3. Beats the back seat of your folks’ car.

  4. No way! I’d prop some pillows to occupy my bed and then I’d hide somewhere with a knife.
    I don’t want no drunk old man in *my* bed.
    Rock, Paper. Scissors, Knife. I win.

  5. what an extraordinary custom…. I do so like how you find such brilliant snippets. Great paintings 🙂

  6. i’m with seraphine – i decide when and if someone gets in my bed (yes, even if i decide to rent out half, it’s my choice!). as for young men peeing on my walls? pretty much happens whenever my son and his friends are in town…

  7. Interestingly enough the custom is still practised in South Africa, except it is the women who do the planting and harvesting and the women who travel in gangs forcing themselves onto us. It’s how my wife got me pregnant.

  8. I can see why it died out. Too much cheating to get maidens like the one in the picture.

  9. Vapour: I’ve just been over to onelongminute.com – you haven’t posted anything for a while…..

    Gorilla Bananas: how do you cheat at scissors paper rock?

  10. Well I don’t know what happened to me growing up, but I find some of these “random” sex customs to be a little distasteful, though I suppose that “Yobai” is a little less disrespecting of women than 10 or 20 Japanese men standing around jacking off and cumming all over the face of a Japanese girl – at one time. (Yeah, sad to say, but I have seen those pictures.)

    As for the whole rock, paper, scissors thing, I like this:

    “Paper Can’t Win: I understand how scissors can beat paper, and I get how a rock can beat scissors, but there’s no fucking way paper can beat rock. Is paper supposed to magically wrap around rock and leave it immobile? Why the hell can’t paper do this to scissors? Screw scissors, why can’t paper do this to people? Why aren’t sheets of college ruled notebook paper constantly suffocating students as they take notes in class? I’ll tell you why, because paper can’t beat anybody. A rock would tear that shit up in 2 seconds. When I play rock paper scissors, I always choose rock. Then when somebody claims to have beaten me with their paper I can punch them in the face with my already clenched fist and say, ‘Oh shit. I’m sorry, I thought paper would protect you, you asshole.’ “

  11. I’ve never played Rock Paper Scissors – have no idea what the rules are but from the names alone it seems to me that Rock should win every time

  12. Well I don’t know what happened to me growing up,

    Don’t worry, Rob, I think bukakke is a tad bit on the distasteful side as well.

    When it comes to ejaculating on a woman’s face, two’s company, twenty’s a crowd…

  13. where is this place exactely, i am planning a trip soon, lol x

  14. I know its been a while but the powers that be now say I have to be productive (what ever that means) at work. They have no respect for my africaness, what ever happened to the good old days of aid for Africa. Bit of a blow really.

  15. Guan Zeju- very pretty.

  16. Love the picture. But not sure how I feel about a boy wee’ing on my doorpost. And we all know how kak their aim is!

  17. NM ~ never discount the ‘scissors’ .. you never know when you may need them 😉 lol

  18. eeeeek! 70s!

  19. That artist is correct, naked boobs are Timeless.

    Also, I think I need to go into the rice-planting business. If not for the yobai sex, then at least for the peeing on doors.

  20. you wanna pee on doors? the gimcrack’s door needs oiling…..

  21. marking the territory is just so damn cool.
    I think I did that years ago, though I’m not sure
    Damn wasted brain cells!
    ~m

  22. Hmmmm. Turns out I might have to take back what I said about paper. According to this maybe paper can beat rock. Damn Swedes!

  23. nanopaper? now that’s really cool…..

  24. Must be some other somatic means to lube the door slide than wizz …
    Beautiful painting, a bit of an illusion happening with the horsemen.


Leave a comment